Online Resources

Libraries on the Web

Muskogee Public Library - http://www.eok.lib.ok.us/

The Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov/

The Awesome Library - http://www.awesomelibrary.org/

Virtual Library in the Sky - http://www.nwrel.org/sky/

WWW Virtual Library - http://vlib.org/Overview.html

The Internet Public Library Reference Center - http://www.ipl.org/ref/

Library Spot - http://www.libraryspot.com/

(Several online libraries also have encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc. available to use.)

 
Online Encyclopedias

Encarta - http://encarta.msn.com/

Encyclopedia Britannica - http://www.britannica.com/

ElectricLibrary's Encyclopedia.com - http://www.encyclopedia.com/

(Several online libraries also have encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc. available to use.)

 
Literary Criticism Sites

Internet Public Library - Literary Criticism - http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Bibliomania (study guides, biography, and full text poems, short stories and drama) - http://www.bibliomania.com/

Bibliomania (study guides, biography, and full text poems, short stories and drama) - http://www.bibliomania.com/

Library Spot - http://www.libraryspot.com/litcrit.htm

Literary History.com - http://www.literaryhistory.com/
 

Biography Resources

Biography.com - Biographies website - http://www.biography.com/ 

Bibliomania (author biographies, study guides, and full text poems, short stories and drama) - http://www.bibliomania.com/

Presidents of the United States (POTUS at IPL) - http://www.ipl.org/div/potus/

The White House (Biographies of the presidents) - http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/
 

Guidelines for Evaluating Web Sites

Kathy Schrock's "Web Site Evaluation Tools" - http://school.discovery.com/schoolhome.html

Karen McLachlan's scoring rubric for web sites - http://www.cyberbee.com/guide.html

Evaluating Web Sites: What Makes a Web Site Good? (from the Multnomah County Library) - http://www.multnomah.lib.or.us/lib/homework/webeval.html

 

Internet Directories

Ask Jeeves- http://www.ask.com/

Ask Jeeves for Kids- http://www.ajkids.com/

Yahooligans (for kids) at - http://www.yahooligans.com/

KidsClick! - http://www.kidsclick.org/

Education World - http://www.education-world.com/

KidsZone - http://www.lycoszone.lycos.com/homework

Britannica Internet Guide - http://www.britannica.com/

INFOMINE - http://infomine.ucr.edu/

 

General Educational Websites

American Library Assoc. (Wow! 100's of links to great sites) - http://www.ala.org/parents/index.html

700+ Great Sites (Totally Awesome!!) - http://www.ala.org/parentspage/greatsites/ Cool Sites for Kids - http://www.ala.org/alsc/children_links.html

Kids Connect Favorite Web Sites - http://www.ala.org/ICONN/kcfavorites.html ABC Teach (educational games) - http://www.abcteach.com/

Homework Center - http://www.multnomah.lib.or.us/lib/homework/

B.J. Pinchbeck's Homework Helper - http://school.discovery.com/homeworkhelp/bjpinchbeck

PBS Online - http://www.pbs.org/

The Knowledge Source - http://www.sirs.com/tree/tree.htm

Kid Info.com (Links for all subjects) - http://www.kidinfo.com/School_Subjects.html

Information Please - http://www.infoplease.com/